• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    07/12/2018

    First Time

    This was our first time camping at this park and I have to say that overall we are very satisfied. The grounds are well maintained and the camp hosts/staff are very friendly. The other campers were friendly and courteous. the tables, fire rings, RV pads, dump station, and bathrooms were all in good working order. Lots for the kids and parents to do. The ONLY thing that really was a bit of a pain was the showers. It takes a very long time to get hot water and once the water warmed up it was TOO hot. Other than that the location (just outside of Lebanon) was terrific and so was our experience.
    (more...)
    courtesy of linnparks.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/14/2017

    Beautiful Campground With Park-like Setting

    We've stayed at Waterloo several times in 2017 since May. We've noticed some of the negative activity that has been posted in prior reviews. However, we have also observed that the staff, rangers, and hosts work tirelessly to keep things running smoothly. All are dedicated to the success of the park. The park is beautiful and is in very high demand in the summer months for camping as well as day use. The weekend crowds can push the facilities to their limits and tempers can flare up. Most of the problems that I observed could be avoided if visitors would odey the rules of the park, monitor their children's activities, keep their dogs on a leash, and be considerate of others. These problems are common everywhere, and are not the fault of the management. My suggestion is to try to visit during the week and avoid the crowds.
    (more...)
    courtesy of linnparks.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/28/2016

    WHATS UP

    WE SPENT AUGUST 24 THROUGH AUGUST 28 AT THE CAMP GROUND, WE HAVE STAYED THERE MANY TIMES THE PAST FEW YEARS. THE FIRST PART OF OUR STAY WAS ALRIGHT. I THOUGHT THERE WAS A LIMIT ON HOW MANY PEOPLE COULD BE IN 1 CAMPSITE. THERE WERE ALOT OF PEOPLE OCCUPYING A COUPLE OF SITES. ON SATURDAY NIGHT THEY WERE PLAYING LOUD MUSIC UNTIL 1 AM AND THEN A FIGHT BTROKE OUT. WE COULD HERE PEOPLE YELLING AND HITTING EACH OTHER. THE CAMP HOST WOULD NOT ANSWER HIS DOOR AND NO POLICE SHOWED UP. THIS WENT ON FOR QUITE AWHILE.IT IS TO BAD THAT SOMETHING WASN'T DONE. I DO NOT FILL SAFE WITH MY GRAND CHILDREN THERE ANYMORE. IT'S A BEAUTIFUL PARK AND I HOPE IN THE FUTURE THEY CAN FIND A RESPONSIBLE HOST.
    (more...)
    courtesy of Camping.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/24/2016

    Linn County parks need to step in

    This is the 3rd summer we have camped here. We always reserved a spot in section A, but section B is shadier and less like a parking lot. We read the negative reviews and have to somewhat agree about the appearance of homeless folks down there with barely running loud cars in and out of the park. We actually witnessed what may have been an "us and them" situation between camp hosts of each section. We were approached wanting to know is we wanted to take home a couple of puppies that host in section B dumped off on host or someone who is staying in section A. Linn County parks dept needs to step in and clean up that section of the park I give section "A" an A+ and Section B a "D" it is scary down there, I would not feel safe camping there
    (more...)
    courtesy of linnparks.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/01/2016

    Used to be great now filled with vagabonds

    This campground used to be a great place to go but the last few years has seen a real decline in the "tenants" of the park. Quite a few sites in the B loop had "permanent"residents that were clearly homeless. This led to more than an acceptable amount of pedaling, trash combing, and even getting approached in my own campsite asking for things. Add to this the evidence of drug use found, unnecessary drama, quite unsanitary bathrooms at times, and sites visited while asleep and things taken, this park doesn't feel safe anymore. The river is great and fun to spend lots of time in. The B loop has plenty of shade and the river side has some great views. The feral cats are a problem though the park is full of them if you look for them. The Camp hosts are kind and easy to get along with and very active cleaning sites as people leave and keeping the trash cans emptied. If the issue with the homeless was dealt with I would recommend this camp again but most often that type of problem becomes permanent because they are not breaking the law.
    (more...)
    courtesy of linnparks.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/30/2016

    Nice place

    Been here several times. I get around, do alot of camping so I can say with experience that this is a great bang for the buck.. It's quiet, people are relatively friendly, camp hosts are accommodating and firm. Shady depots right on the river, lots of activities.. All in all a great stop! Anyone giving this place a bad review I suspect are just trying to keep it their secret sweet spot!
    (more...)
    courtesy of Camping.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    06/05/2016

    Nice park

    We camped 2 nights while driving to California. The park is on the Santiam river and there is a small beach at an Eddy where it's safe (but really cold). The showers are free and hot and we found them well maintained. Did some bicycling in the area the day we were there.
    (more...)
    courtesy of Camping.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    05/23/2016

    Years of service

    Well I just read the review that gave Waterloo an "F". I'm in total disagreement with that review. I have been camping on a yearly basis at Waterloo for some 12+ years with all my grand kids and I have never had a bad experience when I'm there. I have seen law enforcement patrols in the park and on an occasion or two I have seen a particular camp that rides the edge of getting out of control, but it is taken care of by the host or by law enforcement (according to the people causing the problem.) I'm a retired law enforcement officer now and I'm currently making plans for this years trip to Waterloo. I was introduced to Waterloo by my neighbors who had nothing but good experiences there as well. Waterloo has always been a family friendly park for all ages that I have witnessed. I would and have recommended Waterloo to many of my friends and family. As far as the disgruntled writer that gave Waterloo the "F", all I can say is to, look closely in the mirror and see who is really causing the problem.
    (more...)
    courtesy of linnparks.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    05/09/2016

    Very shady and relaxing

    I went for the day to celebrate Mother's Day (3) generations on board in my 23 foot motorhome. Since it was hot and sunny, I paid for an overnight site that had shady trees, paved site, grill and table. It was so comfortable that I elected to stay overnight instead of returning home that same day. Used electric during my stay, used the dump station on the way out. Water spigot was also available on site. The host and his wife were very helpful and nice people. As I told them, I will definitely return! There is a nice walk alongside the river, wish I had a raft to get in there! Stayed in this park on 05/08/2016.
    (more...)
    courtesy of linnparks.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    05/06/2016

    Sad management by park staff

    We live in Linn Co. and have camped at Waterloo for decades. The grounds are well-kept, but that's about all. The current camp hosts seem to draw a rough crowd- and camp environment. There are several A Loop sites of long-term camping/living who make this campground less than desirable. Examples are cats running through the A loop and the sites/trails reek of cat pee/poop! Apparently some of them home-school their kids (?) as they are not in school. Loud yelling and blasting music...Lots of men coming and going through the the evenings- (business must be good.) We have empathy for the needs of housing needs, and support the under-served, but... If you are going advertise, limit camping to 14 days and charge the rest of us, why not get some hosts who make it a better camping experience for the rest of us? We love this park and want to come back... This is Linn Co. Park's responsibility to monitor and manage- please do your job.
    (more...)
    courtesy of linnparks.com

    (more...)